Revise or delete a forum or topic

From Information about Isaak, Brock University's Sakai-Based LMS

Jump to: navigation, search


Permissions and roles

To complete the procedures in this article, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. This often excludes Students and TAs by default. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles.

For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles.


Note: To delete an individual forum message, see Can I delete a forum message?

[edit] Revising a forum or topic

To revise a forum, a topic, or the default template for newly created forums and topics:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Forums, and then click to choose one of the following:
    • Template Settings opens the Default Template Settings screen. Settings from this template will apply each time you create a new forum or topic. You can override these settings for an individual forum or topic after you've created it.
    • Forum Settings opens the Forum Settings screen. This setting overrides the default template settings for an individual forum.
    • Topic Settings opens the Topic Settings screen. This setting overrides the default template and forum settings for an individual topic.
  2. For a forum or topic, you can change the title, descriptions, and attachments. You can also choose to disable postings. For a forum or topic or the default template, you can choose to modify permissions. For instructions, see Control access to Forums.
  3. When you're finished, click one of the following:
    • Save Settings saves your changes and returns you to the Forums screen.
    • Safe Draft saves your forum as a draft and returns you to the Forums screen.
    • Save Settings & Add Topic saves your changes and opens the Topic Settings screen for adding a new topic to your forum. For more information, see Creating a new forum and topic in Forums.
    • Delete removes your Forum and/or Topic with all associated messages, and takes you to a confirmation page.
    • Cancel cancels your changes and returns you to the Forums screen.

[edit] Deleting a forum or topic

To delete a forum or topic you've created:

  1. On the Forums screen, find the forum or topic you wish to delete, and next to its title click one of the following options:
    • Forum Settings opens the Forum Settings screen.
    • Topic Settings opens the Topic Settings screen.
  2. At the bottom of the screen, click Delete.
  3. You'll see a warning message that asks you to confirm the deletion. To delete the item, click Delete. To cancel, click No.

Other articles about Isaak/Sakai's tools and how instructors can use them:

Core Tools:   Image:Flag blue.png Announcements | Image:Page edit.png Assignments | Image:Lessons-icon.png Lessons | Image:Comments.png Forums | Image:Report.png Gradebook | Image:Folder.png Resources | Image:Calendar.png Schedule | Image:Pencil.png Tests and Quizzes

More Tools:   Image:User comment.png Chat Room | Image:Folder page.png Drop Box | Image:House.png Home | Image:Comment.png Messages | Image:Chart bar.png Statistics | Image:Page world.png Web Content


Related articles:   How to add tools to your course | Using the Text Editor | Manage Groups | Permissions and roles | Contact the CPI for help

This article is based on the equivalent Sakai project help article.

The Sakai Educational Community License is deemed to be compatible with this sites Project:Copyrights which are under the Creative Commons 2.5 Licence. You can view the original Sakai help documentation, unedited, at http://kumu.brocku.ca/sakai/help/

Personal tools
  • Log in / create account
Bookmark and Share