This site is a Wiki. Please feel free to update, edit or comment on any page via the "edit" and "discussion" tabs above.

Add/Edit/Delete Dropbox Folder

From Information about Isaak, Brock University's Sakai-Based LMS

Jump to: navigation, search


Permissions and roles

To complete the procedures in this article, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. This often excludes Students and TAs by default. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles.

For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles.

Contents

[edit] Adding a folder

Your site's Drop Box should contain a folder for each participant. You can add folders to the Drop Box or to an existing folder within the Drop Box. To do so, follow these steps:

  • Next to the Drop Box or existing folder, click Add.
  • On the Add Item(s) page, from the "Add Item Type" drop-down list, select Empty folder. Select the number of folders to create.
  • In the "Title" field, type the name of your new folder, and in the "Description" field, type a short description of the folder. If you're creating multiple folders, repeat this step for each of them.
  • Click Add.

Note: Site participants cannot see Drop Box folders belonging to other participants. Participants are able to see and access only their own Drop Box folders and subfolders.

[edit] Editing a folder

You can edit a Drop Box or folder within a Drop Box. Next to the title of the Drop Box or existing folder, click Edit properties. On the Edit Folder page, you can modify the folder's title and description. When you're finished, click Update.

[edit] Removing a folder

You can remove a folder within a Drop Box. Mark the checkbox next to the title of the existing folder, click Remove Checked, and then confirm the removal by clicking Remove.

[edit] Accidentally removing a core folder

Note that core student folders which are automatically created when the Drop Box tool is enabled may be deleted at any time, but will automatically be recreated when an instructor logs back into the course site and visits the tool. Note, however, that files that were within the core folder previous to the deletion will not be restored by this process.

Other articles about Isaak/Sakai's tools and how instructors can use them:

Core Tools:   Image:Flag blue.png Announcements | Image:Page edit.png Assignments | Image:Lessons-icon.png Lessons | Image:Comments.png Forums | Image:Report.png Gradebook | Image:Folder.png Resources | Image:Calendar.png Schedule | Image:Pencil.png Tests and Quizzes

More Tools:   Image:User comment.png Chat Room | Image:Folder page.png Drop Box | Image:House.png Home | Image:Comment.png Messages | Image:Chart bar.png Statistics | Image:Page world.png Web Content


Related articles:   How to add tools to your course | Using the Text Editor | Manage Groups | Permissions and roles | Contact the CPI for help


This article is based on the equivalent Sakai project help article.

The Sakai Educational Community License is deemed to be compatible with this sites Project:Copyrights which are under the Creative Commons 2.5 Licence. You can view the original Sakai help documentation, unedited, at http://kumu.brocku.ca/sakai/help/

Personal tools
  • Log in / create account
Bookmark and Share